All of my metaphors fell flat

Look at me, being all up to date with music and stuff! Well, kinda. Jens Lekman’s Night Falls Over Kortedala has been out for a while in his native Sweden, but this is not Sweden, I am not Swedish and it finally dropped in the U.S. on 10/9, so that counts as being up to date as far as I’m concerned.

Anyway, I’ve been listening to it nonstop because is big-time awesome — as long as you’re into baroque, hyper-symphonic pop. Click below for more.

This album feels like Jens’ most instantly accessible thus far. It always seems like his records need a few spins before they hit home, but one round of Kortedala should be all you need to get hooked. Lots of upbeat tunes, a few sprinkles of synthesizer beats and plenty of lyrical imagery and honesty.

His music is dramatic and heavy thematically, trodding through love and heartbreak, while the arrangements are dramatic yet light, full of strings and flutes and all sorts of other instruments you figured they buried with Burt Bacharach. You know, if he were dead. (Sorry Burt … I just liked the way that sentence read.)(If he dies this week I am going to feel really shitty.)

Prefix and Pitchfork already spooged all over it, so I’ll just say that if you dig that Technicolor 1960s pop sound, go buy this record right now. You’d also be well served to pick up Lekman’s older stuff, 2004’s When I Said I Wanted to Be Your Dog, and 2005’s Oh You’re So Silent Jens — both of which are worth checking out.

Random personal note: I had a life-altering internal dialogue while listening to Oh You’re So Silent Jens as I waited to catch the 21 at Baker and Hayes a while back. That album now holds an interesting place in my heart, so I figured I’d throw that out there. I’m not saying it was necessarily the record that did it, or that you’ll enjoy the same results, but you never know.

Published in: on October 14, 2007 at 10:47 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoverlydramatictruth.wordpress.com/2007/10/14/all-of-my-metaphors-fell-flat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That song is very upbeat, with kind of depressing lyrics. Odd, but I think I liked it.

  2. The ocean tries to make me feel stupid all the time. Damned ocean. You think you’re better than me?!?


Leave a Reply

